2016 Awards

The Division of Policing will be presenting its 2016 awards at the ASC annual meeting in November.  This year, the Division will be giving the same three awards as last year, in addition to one new award for an outstanding law enforcement practitioner.  Congratulations to our 2016 award winners!


Early Career Award

The Early Career Award recognizes outstanding scholarly contributions to the field of policing by someone who has received his or her Ph.D. degree within the last five years.

2015 WinnerTal-Jonathan-Zamir, Hebrew University

2016 Winner:  Scott Wolfe, University of South Carolina

Distinguished Scholar Award

The Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes an established academic/researcher who has held a Ph.D. degree for at least ten years and is considered to be mid-career. The outstanding contributions to the field of policing may consist of a single outstanding book or work, a series of theoretical or research contributions, or the recipient’s accumulated scholarly contributions.

2015 WinnerEdmund McGarrell, Michigan State University

2016 WinnerLorraine Mazerolle, University of Queensland

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes lifetime scholarly achievement in the field of policing. The award is not given for any single research project or study, but for a body of research developed over one’s career.

2015 WinnerStephen Mastrofski, George Mason University

2016 WinnerLawrence Sherman, University of Cambridge and University of Maryland


Outstanding Book in Policing Award

This award recognizes a monograph (not a textbook, anthology or edited volume) published in the three calendar years preceding this year.

2016 Winner:  No award given


Outstanding Law Enforcement Practitioner Award

The award recognizes a law enforcement practitioner who has played an integral role in advancing the field of law enforcement and public safety in innovative ways. This may have been accomplished through a number of methods including but not limited to the following:

  • A sustained period of leadership
  • Evidence of producing organizational change
  • Evidence of leading initiatives that have produced reductions in crime
  • Development of partnerships to enhance public safety
  • Increasing community participation in public safety
  • Collaborative roles with research that have led to significant changes in law
  • Implementing major new programs or policies

2016 Winner:  James Bueermann, Police Foundation and Redlands Police Department (ret.)