ASC Annual Meeting

Division of Policing Executive Board Members with our Inaugural Award Winners at our 2015 Reception


ASC 2016 Reception

The Division will once again host a Reception and Awards Ceremony at the ASC Annual Meeting in New Orleans.  The ceremony will be held Thursday, November 17 from 3:30-4:50pm in the Hilton Exhibition Center HEC C, 2nd Level.  


The ceremony will begin with opening remarks from Bureau of Justice Assistance Director Denise O’Donnell (left) and National Institute of Justice Director Nancy Rodriguez (right), followed by Division updates from Chair Dennis Rosenbaum and the introduction of the newly elected Executive Board.

O'Donnell Rodriguez







Congratulations to our 2016 award winners who will be honored at our reception:

  • Early Career:  Scott Wolfe, University of South Carolina
  • Distinguished Scholar:  Lorraine Mazerolle, University of Queensland
  • Lifetime Achievement:  Lawrence Sherman, University of Cambridge and University of Maryland
  • Outstanding Law Enforcement Practitioner:  James Bueermann, Police Foundation and Redlands Police Department (ret.)


Right before our reception on Thursday, November 17, the Division Journals Committee will host a Roundtable with Journal Editors from 2:00-3:20pm in the Hilton in Cambridge, 2nd Level. The session will include editors from several top policing journals including:

  • Wesley Jennings, Co-Editor, Policing: An International Journal of Police Strategies and Management
  • Cynthia Lum, North American Editor, Policing: A Journal of Policy and Practice
  • Sebastian Roché, European Regional Editor, Policing and Society
  • John Worrall, Editor, Police Quarterly


ASC 2016 Panels of Interest


Click HERE for our handy PDF guide to all policing sessions of interest at ASC.


The Division of Policing has organized a special session on Friday, November 18 from 9:30-10:50am in the Hilton, Chart A, Riverside Complex  on “Recommendations from the President’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing: A Closer Look at the Science and Practice of Implementation”

  • Chair: Cynthia Lum
  • “Responding to Pillar Two of the President’s Task Force: Policy and Oversight,”  William Terrill
  • “Expanding the National Decertification Index: The Challenges Ahead,”
    Matt Hickman
  • “Responding to Pillar Five of the President’s Task Force: Training and Education,” Dennis Rosenbaum


We also invite members to attend a special session on BJA’s Smart Suite:

Researcher-Practitioner Partnerships—Learn about Potential Opportunities with Innovative Programs
The Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) gives out numerous grants each year under the title of BJA’s “Smart Suite”.   The Smart Suite of programs represents a strategic approach that brings more “science” into criminal justice operations by leveraging innovative applications of analysis, technology, and evidence-based practices with the goal of improving performance and effectiveness while containing costs. The heart of the Smart Suite is practitioner-researcher partnerships, but BJA would like to expand the researchers that work with their grantees.  Denise O’Donnell (head of BJA), Betsi Griffith (Associate Deputy Director BJA), Ed McGarrell, Faye Taxman and Craig Uchida will discuss their experiences with this funding source.  Come to a session on Wednesday, Nov 16 at 9:30 am in Norwich (3rd Level) to discuss how to become an active researcher in this portfolio of programming.

The following programs are in the BJA Smart Suite: Project Safe Neighborhoods (PSN), Smart Policing, Byrne Criminal Justice Innovation (BCJI), Smart Supervision, Smart Reentry, Smart Pretrial, Prescription Drug Monitoring, Field Initiated – Category 1, Smart Prosecution, Smart Defense


ASC 2015

The Division of Policing hosted its Reception and Awards Ceremony at ASC 2015 in Washington, DC. on November 19.


ASC 2014

Click HERE to visit our ASC 2014 inaugural event page with information on the Division’s first event and remarks from our distinguished speakers.